MUSICA SACRA NOVA 2025

21th International Composers Competition

Organizers:

Pontificio Istituto di Musica Sacra, Vatican Erzbistum Köln, Germany Freundeskreis Abtei Brauweiler, Germany Instytut Musica Sacra, Warszawa, Poland Polski Chór Kameralny, Gdańsk, Poland Hochschule für katholische Kirchenmusik und Musikpädagogik Regensburg, Germany Associazione Musica Ficta, Rimini, Italy

Co-Organizers:

Municipal Choir "Jauna Muzika", Vilnius, Lithuania

Coordination:

Michael Utz (Germany)

Conditions of the competition:

- 1. The competition is open to composers of any nationality.
- 2. Prize winners from 2024 are not eligible for entries.
- 3. Age limit: up to **35 years old** (on 15 January 2025).
- More than one score per composer is permitted (maximum three compositions per category).
- Submitted compositions must be unpublished, should not have been performed in public previously and should not have been awarded a prize at any other competition.
- 6. Applicants can submit compositions to one or both of the categories below:

Category A:

A composition for unaccompanied mixed choir (up to a maximum of 16 voices) to a Latin Christian text.

Category B:

A liturgical composition for mixed choir (4 voices) with organ ad lib. to a Latin liturgical text.

- 6. Duration of the composition: Cat. A: 3 8 minutes; Cat. B: 4 minutes.
- 7. The organizers reserve the rights for the first performance of the prize-winning compositions.

Prizes:

The following prizes will be awarded:

Category A - works for choir

1st Prize: 2.500 Euro

First performance in Gdańsk (Poland) by the Polski Chór Kameralny directed by Jan Łukaszewski; further performance in Vilnius by the Municipal Choir "Jauna Muzika" directed by Vaclovas Augustinas.

2nd Prize: 2.000 Euro

First performance in Gdańsk (Poland) by the Polski Chór Kameralny directed by Jan Łukaszewski; further performance in Vilnius by the Municipal Choir "Jauna Muzika" directed by Vaclovas Augustinas.

3rd Prize: 1.000 Euro

First performance in Gdańsk (Poland) by the Polski Chór Kameralny directed by Jan Łukaszewski; further performance in Vilnius by the Municipal Choir "Jauna Muzika" directed by Vaclovas Augustinas.

Additional Prize

1.000 Euro Special Prize of General Consulate of Republic of Poland for the best Polish composer

Category B – Liturgical piece for choir (and organ)

1st Prize: 2.000 Euro

First performance during the "Musica Sacra Nova" Festival in Brauweiler (Germany).

2nd Prize: 1.500 Euro

First performance during the "Musica Sacra Nova" Festival in Brauweiler (Germany).

3rd Prize: 1.000 Euro

First performance during the "Musica Sacra Nova" Festival in Brauweiler (Germany).

In case of ex-aequo, the prize will be split in two parts.

The Jury reserves the right not to award a prize.

The decision of the Jury is final.

Entries:

- 1. The score should be submitted anonymously and marked with a letter emblem online as pdf file.
- 2. Another file marked with the same letter emblem should also be attached containing the following information:
- a) composer's full name
- b) date and place of birth
- c) nationality
- d) address, telephone and e-mail address
- e) title of the composition
- 3. The submission must also enclose the following signed and dated declaration:

"I declare that this composition submitted to the Musica Sacra Nova 2025 competition has hitherto neither been published nor performed before a public audience nor awarded a prize in any other competition."

4. The entries may be sent online: https://form.jotform.com/aercobologna/music asacranova

The deadline for submission of scores is 15 January 2025.

Results will be announced by the begining of March 2025.

Final Provisions:

- 1. By participating in the Competition you accept the terms and conditions above
- 2. Compositions not meeting the requirements stated in the above terms and conditions will not be admitted to the Competition.
- 3. Contentious cases will be resolved based on the English version of the terms and conditions of the Competition.
- 4. The submitted scores will become the property of the organizers and will not be returned.

Jury Members 2025:

Andrea Angelini - Italy Vaclovas Augustinas – Lithuania Robert Mehlhart - Vatican Stephen Layton – Great Britain Jan Łukaszewski – Poland Pawel Łukaszewski – Poland Enjott Schneider – Germany